A cappella group Pentatonix, which has more than 13 million subscribers on YouTube, is so popular that even its side groups have enough clout to launch their own albums. Superfruit, the spin-off channel hosted by Pentatonix members Mitch Grassi and Scott Hoying, has announced its plan to release both parts of a double EP called Future Friends in 2017.

Future Friends will be split across two albums. The first half of the EP is due out on June 30th, with preorders beginning ten days prior to release. The second half will arrive on September 15th. Additional details about the multi-part project are available in a video released by Grassi and Hoying on the Superfruit channel.

Grassi and Hoying first launched Superfruit in 2013 as a hub on which they could celebrate their lifelong friendship. In 2016, they released an original song under the Superfruit banner, titled “Bad 4 Us.” A second song, “Sweet Life,” followed a month later. While those two compositions feature plenty of vocal harmony, they are not a cappella tracks, making Superfruit’s musical style distinct from that of Pentatonix.

Though the Superfruit brand is taking off, Grassi and Hoying remain full members of Pentatonix. The successful a cappella group recently released its latest album, PTX, Vol. IV – Classics, earlier in 2017, and it has shared several music videos in support of that release.

If you want to receive more information about individual Future Friends tracks, give the Superfruit Twitter feed a follow.

Facebook Comments

Don't miss out on the next big story.

Get Tubefilter's Top Stories, Breaking News, and Event updates delivered straight to your inbox.

This information will never be shared with a third party