FouseyTube And Philip DeFranco Win ‘Entertainer’ And ‘Show Of The Year’ At The Streamys

By 10/05/2016
FouseyTube And Philip DeFranco Win ‘Entertainer’ And ‘Show Of The Year’ At The Streamys

Vloggers Yousef Erakat and Philip DeFranco won big at last night’s Streamy Awards — an annual spectacle honoring the year’s best online creators and videos. Erakat, better known to viewers by his YouTube moniker FouseyTube, took home the Entertainer Of The Year Streamy, while DeFranco, who hosts an eponymous daily chat series on YouTube, won Show Of The Year.

Winners were crowned throughout the course of an eventful broadcast — streamed exclusively on YouTube — during which BuzzFeed’s Try Guys sported glitter beards while presenting Kandee Johnson with top honors in the Beauty category and host King Bach and the actor James Van Der Beek competed in a break-dance showdown.


The evening was also replete with several exciting and moving musical performances. The legendary rapper Biz Markie closed out the show with hits ‘Make The Music With Your Mouth‘ and ​’Just a Friend‘. And in honor of Christina Grimmie, the YouTube musician who was tragically killed at a meet-and-greet over the summer, fellow musicians Kurt Hugo Schneider and ​​Sam Tsui ​performed a stunning tribute medley that was introduced by an emotional Shane Dawson.


Subscribe for daily Tubefilter Top Stories


Other memorable moments included Vine star Liza Koshy excitedly spitting out her gum onstage (below) while accepting the Breakout Creator award — presented by Time Inc.’s Instant platform — and the Merrell Twins taking home the Streamy in the Live category, which was a brand new honor this year. Another first-time Streamy in the Feature category was awarded to Lilly ‘Superwoman’ Singh for her YouTube Red documentary A Trip To Unicorn Island.

The 6th annual Streamy Awards were co-produced by live events giant Dick Clark Productions and Tubefilter. While the majority of the awards were determined by a Blue Ribbon Panel of creators, executives, and industry experts, the two Audience Choice awards were determined by fan votes. Check out a full list of this year’s winners below:


​​Entertainer Of The Year​ ​– Yousef Erakat ​

Show Of The Year ​– The Philip DeFranco Show


Breakout Creator — Liza Koshy

Comedy — Good Mythical Morning

Feature — A Trip to Unicorn Island

First Person — Casey Neistat


Beauty — Kandee Johnson

Fashion — Amanda Steele

Lifestyle — GloZell Green


Actor — Chris Kendall, Oscar’s Hotel for Fantastical Creatures

Actress — Jenn McAllister, Foursome


Live — Merrell Twins

Snapchat Storyteller — Shaun ‘Shonduras’ McBride

Viner — Thomas Sanders

Subscribe for daily Tubefilter Top Stories

Stay up-to-date with the latest and breaking creator and online video news delivered right to your inbox.