NATPE Reveals 2012 Digital Luminary Awards Winners

By 01/10/2012
NATPE Reveals 2012 Digital Luminary Awards Winners

NATPE announced the recipients of the 2012 Digital Luminary Awards, which honor leadership in digital media in six categories ranging from Branded Entertainment Series to Online Video Personality.

NATPE CEO Rick Feldman announced the winners of the third annual awards, which honor the innovative people and companies who act as catalysts in the content revolution. Recipients in six categories will be honored during a presentation at NATPE || ContentFirst, the premier U.S.-based media marketplace. Alex Albrecht of Fat Dolphin will emcee. The Digital Luminary Awards are produced again with Tubefilter.

Each year, digital media continues to redefine itself and mature in terms of content, brand integration and talent,” remarked Feldman. “NATPE is proud to recognize the 2012 Digital Luminary Awards honorees as they lead the charge in uniting the world of media in a truly exciting way.”


Subscribe for daily Tubefilter Top Stories


The 2012 recipients are:

Brand Leadership in Online VideoHonoring a brand that has shown repeated commitment to funding original online entertainment content that is engaging, unique and successful in reaching a core online audience.

Honoree: NASA: Juno

NASA is a pioneer in the digital documentary world, largely because of Mission Juno, an interactive digital documentary designed to change the way the public perceives space. Translating complex scientific data into a clear and compelling narrative of space exploration, the Mission Juno website engages visitors in a visual experience that allows them to track, explore and learn about NASA’s mission to Jupiter.


Branded Entertainment SeriesRecognizing excellence in an original online video series that is funded primarily through a brand sponsor.

Honoree: Leap Year

Leap Year is a ten-episode original comedy series about five newbie startup founders competing for $500,000 in funding. The series was produced by CJP Digital Media for Hiscox Small Business Insurance to raise awareness among entrepreneurs for the company’s suite of online business insurance tools. The first season garnered critical acclaim, 5 million organic views, 100 million earned media impressions and 40,000 active social media followers, 66 percent of which self-identify as being among the brand’s target audience.


Online Video PersonalityHonoring an online video personality that has built a significant audience and continues to engage and entertain them in unique ways.

Honoree: Charlie Todd, Improv Everywhere

Charlie Todd is recognized internationally as the visionary creator, producer and director behind some of the most famous viral videos in the world. In 2001 Todd founded Improv Everywhere (IE), a New York City-based prank collective that causes scenes of chaos and joy in public places. It is now the largest network of “pranksters” ever assembled. IE videos have been viewed more than 170 million times on YouTube.


Original Web Content in a Drama Series: Recognizing excellence in creation of an original dramatic web series that has broken through and achieved critical and financial success in the past year. 

Honoree: Aim High

Aim High is about a top agent for the U.S. Government…who is 16 years old. The series is recognized for its production quality, strong performances and tremendous writing, and is a good example of delivering edgy, clever material online. This series is produced by Warner Premiere and Dolphin Entertainment and distributed by Warner Bros. Digital Distribution on Cambio.


Original Web Content in a Comedy SeriesRecognizing excellence in creation of an original comedy web series that has broken through and achieved critical and financial success in the past year.

Honoree: Wainy Days

Wainy Days is one of the longest-running, most popular, original comedy series online. This My Damn Channel exclusive by writer, actor and director David Wain, has been viewed more than 17 million times. Wainy Days has received top honors such as “Best Comedy Series” for the 2008 and 2009 Webby Awards, and was honored with “Best Guest Appearance” (Paul Rudd) at the 2009 Streamy Awards.


Leadership in the Digital Category: Recognizing the commitment and investment in the creation and distribution of online content.

Honoree: Yahoo!

Yahoo delivers premium content experiences across screens at scale. With a longtime commitment to original video programming, Yahoo has 12 of the top 12 original video shows online and the most successful online show in history, Primetime in No Time, boasting over half a billion streams.

The event will take places January 25 during NATPE 2012. The event will also be streamed live at

The Advisory Committee is co-chaired by Rob Barnett, Founder/CEO, My Damn Channel; and Robert Friedman, President, Media and Entertainment, @radical media. Members of the committee include the following:

  • Drew Baldwin, Co-Founder, Tubefilter
  • Max Benator, Head of Development and Production, Collective Digital Studio
  • Barrett Garese, Director, Content Partnerships,
  • Tamara Krinsky, New Media Program Manager, Writers Guild of America, West
  • Jordan Levin, CEO, Generate
  • Erin McPherson, VP & Head of Original Programming, Yahoo!
  • Michael Wayne, Co-Founder & CEO, DECA

Note: Drew Baldwin serves on the Digital Luminary Advisory Committee and Tubefilter is a proud producer of the Digital Luminary Awards.

Subscribe for daily Tubefilter Top Stories

Stay up-to-date with the latest and breaking creator and online video news delivered right to your inbox.