We’ve heard the calls for more information and transparency from The Streamy Awards and The International Academy of Web Television. Our principal goal has been to build a credible organization and ceremony to properly acknowledge the innovation and achievement we’ve witnessed in this growing industry and medium. We acknowledge that, in the hectic process of building such an organization and ceremony, we’ve been somewhat lacking on details.

Today that changes. The first of many upcoming press releases about The International Academy of Web Television and The Streamy Awards was distributed to media.

Yesterday, members of the Academy were invited to vote on finalists for the 2009 Streamy Awards. Finalists will be announced by the committee in the coming weeks and winners will be announced on March 28th, 2009 at The Streamy Awards ceremony at The Writers Guild Theater in Beverly Hills, California.

We’re proud to have built a respectable and diverse academy that represent a wide cross-section of the Web television community, the members of which have achieved notable success in their respective fields. They include actors, agents, composers, content developers, directors, journalists, producers, technology innovators and writers who actively participate in and support the Web television and digital entertainment industries. A full list of inaugural members is listed on the press release (and below).

This is also just the beginning. The IAWTV is envisioned as a member-run organization charged with serving the interests of the internet entertainment community, and we’ll be actively soliciting feedback about the proper organization and governance of this body. Ultimately, we see this organization providing significant value beyond simply selecting Streamy Awards winners, but the form it ultimately takes will be part of a wide-ranging discussion in which you will hopefully be a part.

Thanks for your patience and ongoing support as we help bring this creative community the attention it deserves.

Inaugural Members:

  • Alex Albrecht, Creator and Host, Team Awesome and Project Lore, Host, Diggnation
  • Chris Albrecht, Co-Editor, NewTeeVee
  • Todd Amorde, National Director of Organizing, Screen Actors Guild
  • Drew Baldwin, Co-Founder, Tubefilter
  • Yuri Baranovsky, Creator and Producer, Break A Leg
  • Ryan Barlow, Director, Distribution & Marketing, The Tornante Company
  • Rob Barnett, CEO, MyDamnChannel
  • Andrew Baron, Creator, Rocketboom
  • Justine Bateman, Partner, FM78.tv
  • Erik Beck, Creator, Host, Producer, Indy Mogul
  • Sean Becker, Producer and Director, Awkward Pictures, Comedy Gumbo
  • Miles Beckett, CEO, EQAL, lonelygirl15, LG15: The Resistance, KateModern, Harper’s Globe
  • Max Benator, Head of Digital Media, RDF USA
  • Payman Benz, Writer and Director, Awkward Pictures, Comedy Gumbo
  • Damon Berger, Director of Branded Entertainment, Moderati
  • Hayden Black, CEO, Evil Global Corporation, Abigail’s Teen Diary, Goodnight Burbank
  • Brady Brim-DeForest, Co-Founder, Tubefilter
  • Bill Cammack, Freelance Video Editor and New Media Consultant
  • Ned Canty, Festival Director, New York Television Festival
  • Aimee Carlson, Creative Director, US, Dailymotion
  • Joshua Cohen, Co-Founder, Tilzy.TV
  • Felicia Day, Creator, The Guild; Actor Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog, Legend of Neil
  • Mark Day, Comedy Manager, YouTube
  • Zadi Diaz, Co-Founder, Smashface Productions, Epic Fu
  • Matt Enlow, Content Strategist, Strike.TV
  • Kim Evey, Owner, Gorgeous Tiny Productions; The Guild, Gorgeous Tiny Chicken Machine Show
  • Mary Feuer, Series Creator, With the Angels
  • Elisabeth Flack, New Media Representative, Writers Guild of America, West
  • Nick Fortunato, VP, Programming and Production, HEAVY.com
  • Brent Friedman, Co-Founder, Electric Farm Entertainment; Afterworld, Gemini Division
  • Liz Gannes, Founder and Co-Editor, NewTeeVee
  • Barrett Garese, Founding Agent, Online Department, United Talent Agency
  • Steve Garfield, Producer, SteveGarfield.com
  • Justin Gayner, Co-Founder, ChannelFlip Media
  • Greg Goodfried, President, COO, EQAL, lonelygirl15, LG15: The Resistance, KateModern, Harper’s Globe
  • Kathleen Grace, Director and Producer, Dinosaur Diorama Productions, The Burg, The All-For-Nots
  • Virginia Heffernan, TV Critic, The New York Times
  • Mike Hudack, CEO, blip.tv
  • Brian Seth Hurst, Second Vice Chair, Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, National Board, Producer’s Guild of America
  • Marc Hustvedt, Co-Founder, Tubefilter
  • Justin Johnson, Creative Services Lead, Next New Networks
  • Dina Kaplan, Co-Founder, blip.tv
  • Geoff Katz, Governor, Interactive Media Peer Group, Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
  • Joshua Kinberg, Director, Online Video Product Management, PBS
  • Matthew Kirsch, Creator, Dudes
  • Paul Kontonis, CEO, For Your Imagination
  • Bob Kushell, Creator and Executive Producer, Anytime with Bob Kushell
  • Jim Louderback, CEO, Revision3
  • Jeff Macpherson, Creator, Tiki Bar TV
  • Tyler Malin, Partner, Madon Malin, P.C.; Secret Fun Time
  • Brandon Martinez, New Media Agent, Abrams Artists Agency
  • Matt Mazzeo, Agent, CAA
  • Chris McCaleb, Co-Founder, Big Fantastic, Director, Sorority Forever, Foreign Body, Cockpit, Sam Has 7 Friends, Foreign Body
  • Alec McNayr, Executive Producer, Space Shank Media, Flipper Nation
  • Tom Merritt, Executive Editor, CBS Interactive
  • Liz Shannon Miller, Reviews Editor, NewTeeVee
  • Eric Mortensen, Director of Content Development, blip.tv
  • Kent Nichols, Co-Creator, Ask A Ninja
  • Sandeep Parikh, CEO, Effinfunny.com, The Legend of Neil, The Guild
  • Chris Pfaff, New Media Council, Producers Guild of America, East
  • Brent Poer, General Manager, TheWB.com
  • Adam Quirk, Producer, Wreck & Salvage
  • Sam Reich, President of Original Content, CollegeHumor.com
  • Scott Roesch, VP & GM, Atom.com / Comedy Central
  • Jessica Rose, Actress, lonelygirl15, Hooking Up, Sorority Forever, Casanovas
  • George Ruiz, Head of New Media, International Creative Management
  • Douglas Sarine, Writer, Beatbox Giant Productions, Ask A Ninja
  • David Sarno, Internet Columnist, The Los Angeles Times
  • Tim Shey, Co-Founder, Next New Networks
  • Irina Slutsky, Co-Founder, Geek Entertainment Television
  • Jay Smooth, Creator, Ill Doctrine
  • Taryn Southern, Writer and Producer, Private High Musical; Actor, Sorority Forever
  • Tim Street, CEO, APE Digital, French Maid TV
  • Sarah Szalavitz, Founder and CEO, 7 Robot, ZapRoot
  • Jamison Tilsner, Founder, Tilzy.TV
  • Woody Tondorf, Producer, Runaway Box, HBO Lab
  • Gary Vaynerchuk, Host and Founder, Wine Library TV
  • Michael Wayne, Co-Founder & CEO, DECA
  • Brent Weinstein, CEO, 60Frames Entertainment
  • Daisy Whitney, Reporter, TV Week and New Media Minute
  • Thom Woodley, Partner, Dinosaur Diorama, The Burg, The All-For-Nots
  • Steve Woolf, Co-founder, Smashface Productions, Epic Fu
  • Jonathan Zalben, Composer, House Poor
Facebook Comments

Don't miss out on the next big story.

Get Tubefilter's Top Stories, Breaking News, and Event updates delivered straight to your inbox.

This information will never be shared with a third party