This past year was truly a monumental year for online video. Major production studios, independent new media producers, seasoned media executives and a swath of talent ranging from Hollywood celebrities to overnight internet sensations contributed to the development of a distinctive and vibrant new medium.

We thought it was time that this distinctive medium get the recognition it deserves, so we teamed up with two leading publications of this fledgling industry – NewTeeVee and Tubefilter – to develop the International Academy of Web Television and The Streamy Awards!

Here’s the timeline and more info… 

December 19, 2008: Nominations open

January 23, 2009: Nominations closed

February 15, 2009: Audience Choice Finalists Announced

March 9, 2009: Nominees Announced

Digtal media has had a truly transformative impact on storytelling and the entertainment industy. These awards give us an opportunity to properly acknowledge the innovation around us.

Winners will be announced at the Streamy Awards Ceremony in Los Angeles, California on March 28, 2009. Any original web series of at least three installments released in 2008 can be nominated and will qualify for consideration.

Fans are involved at every step of the nominations process, and the most nominated show in each category will be automatically selected as one of up to five finalists.

What are you waiting for? Head to and nominate the best shows on the web!

Facebook Comments

Don't miss out on the next big story.

Get Tubefilter's Top Stories, Breaking News, and Event updates delivered straight to your inbox.

This information will never be shared with a third party