YouTube Sharing, Improved App Arrives On PlayStation 4 by Bree Brouwer of Tubefilter

Sony decided to make its best-selling console even more attractive to consumers. Now, PS4 owners can publish their game play directly to YouTube and enjoy an improved viewing experience through YouTube’s app.

The new YouTube feature will allow PS4 gamers to push their recorded game footage to Google’s video site through the console’s “upload” page. Users can enter a title and description, as well as clip their videos, before uploading to YouTube. In the past, Sony’s console users could only export and share clips of their gaming to Facebook. But according to Sony’s official blog, adding a similar ability for YouTube was one of the most “highly-requested features from the community.” This request makes sense because despite Facebook’s recent push into native video, gaming is one of the most popular topics on YouTube.

YouTube noted on its blog that its app for PS4 was also updated to allow users to watch videos up to 1080p and with 5.1 channel audio. Additionally, according to CNET, Sony ramped up the console’s streaming capabilities. Users can now watch their friends’ livestreams through a new “Featured” category, save live and past streams to a favorites list, and livestream their own game play with the option to display a custom message and adjust video appearance.

All these additions to the PS4 are only part of Sony’s larger 2.0 update for the console’s software. The update included more requested features such as voice commands (similar to Xbox One’s capabilities), improved party and invitation screens, and the ability to play music through a connected USB device. “This is the biggest update we’ve delivered to date for PS4,” said Sony on their blog.

Released on October 28, 2014, the update is available to all PS4 owners. You can start uploading to YouTube and streaming to your heart’s content.

Facebook Comments

Don't miss out on the next big story.

Get Tubefilter's Top Stories, Breaking News, and Event updates delivered straight to your inbox.

This information will never be shared with a third party