With the much-anticipated royal wedding between Britain’s Prince William and Miss Catherine Middleton fast approaching on April 29th, Tubefilter has been receiving reports that broadcasters have been scrambling to sell the live streaming rights to the ceremony—with little success.

Royal WeddingSo today the Royal Household announced that it will be live streaming the entire ceremony itself, via the YouTube channel TheRoyalChannel, the official channel of the British monarchy.

The feed will be taken from the BBC ,without a broadcaster’s commentary. According to the YouTube Blog, “The live stream will begin at 10:00am BST (9:00am GMT, 2:00am PT, 5:00am ET) on Friday, April 29, and will follow the wedding procession, marriage ceremony at Westminster Abbey and balcony kiss.”

The Royal Household is taking advantage of YouTube’s latest foray into live streaming, which includes hundreds of content partners, including a kickoff of The Digitour live from Google HQ. Staff at Clarence House and St. James’s Palace will provide a live commentary with historical information, interesting links, additional photographs and video footage as well as an integrated Twitter feed.

We’ll see how this decision affects NBC’s broadcast plans for the wedding, along with Entertainment Tonight and The Insider who has partnered with Livestream to integrate the live stream into their comprehensive coverage of the nuptials.

Facebook Comments

Don't miss out on the next big story.

Get Tubefilter's Top Stories, Breaking News, and Event updates delivered straight to your inbox.

This information will never be shared with a third party